Month 3 Tag Game Adding Bonuses

January 24, 2018

I have finally finished month 2 of my game! This has made my Tag game feel so much more lively with powerups popping up, points being collected, and achievements being earned. But remember, collectables shouldn’t be the only reason that a game is fun as I said before. Luckily for me, my Tag game has passed the test and I can continue on with adding the extra bonuses. So here are some of the bonuses that Month 3 has provided.

First off there are points that the characters can collect. Each character has their own point currency such as the cat collects mice, the rabbit collects carrots, and the dog collects bones. These points can be used to buy things at the shop, which I have also added.

shop
The cat has maxed out his stat on the increased gold money chance, the rabbit can buy the gold money chance, and the dog does not have enough money to buy the gold money chance.

A couple of the items at the shop such as skins, teleport, and itter pass don’t work yet, but the majority of the things bought can be used within the updated pause screen of the game.

useItem
Sim the cat is getting ready to use an item he bought at the shop

On top of that I have added six power-ups that randomly appear during gameplay to either help or hinder the player. So at a time when you are it and can’t tag another player, you hope that either you get a fast powerup or the other player gets stuck in goo and can’t jump. The powerups give losing players hope that they may be able to succeed.

small
Sim the cat has recently touched a shrink powerup. Now he is so smol.

Perhaps getting bad powerups isn’t so terrible as collecting the different powerups can earn achievements. Now all the buttons shown in the main menu picture of the previous post are working and the game is feeling, well “gamier.” I hope you enjoyed this post and the new updates to my Unity Tag game. See you in a week!

Here is a video showing off what these first three months have accomplished. Turn on captions:

 

 

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started